Homebuyer Education Agencies

The following homebuyer counseling agencies provide educational workshops and counseling to individuals and families interested in buying a home. These organizations have been awarded a "collaborative seal of approval", a designation by the Massachusetts Homeownership Collaborative indicating they meet the Collaborative's standards for comprehensive homebuyer education.

If you have any concerns about the quality of the homebuyer education you received, or have reason to believe one of these organizations is not adhering to the Collaborative’s Code of Ethics, please contact us here. Your name will be kept strictly confidential.

By participating in a first-time homebuyer counseling workshop, prospective buyers learn about the entire homebuying process, including how to deal with credit issues, working with a real estate agent, applying for a mortgage, and more. Participants may also be able to access special affordable mortgage products and other homebuyer services.

Some of the agencies listed below also offer post-ownership workshops for people who want to learn more about maintaining homeownership, being a good landlord, financing home improvements, etc.

For more information, please contact a homebuyer counseling agency in your area. If your lender requires you to take a HUD-approved class, make sure you register with an approved agency. We wish you the best in your search for an affordable home.

-----

Boston

Allston Brighton Community Development Corporation
- Allston and Brighton
Meghan Monson 
(classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(617) 787-3874 
homebuy@allstonbrightoncdc.org
 
 
- Boston
May Chu
(classes available in Cantonese, Mandarin, and English)
(HUD approved)
(617) 482-2380 x208
may.chu@asiancdc.org
 
City of Boston, Dept. of Neighborhood Development
- Boston
Christine McCrorey 
Boston Home Center
(617) 635-4663 
homecenter@boston.gov
 
- Boston
Carolyn McGee
(HUD Approved)
(617) 825-4224 x127 
carolyn@csndc.com
 
- Boston
Jacqueline Cooper
(Online Education available)
 
Massachusetts Affordable Housing Alliance
- Dorchester
Percy Stallworth
(classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD Approved)
(617) 822-9100 x314
scrawford@mahahome.org
 
Neighborhood of Affordable Housing
- East Boston
Diana Franco
(classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD Approved)
(617) 418-8266 
 
Ginny Gilmartin
(classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD Approved)
(617) 989-9318
vgilmartin@urbanedge.org
 
 

 

Greater Boston

City of Cambridge Community Development Department
- Cambridge
Antonia Finley
(617) 349-4622
afinley@cambridgema.gov

Chelsea Restoration Corporation
- Chelsea
Leisla Ortiz
(classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(617) 889-2277
lortiz@chelsearestoration.org

Community Service Network, Inc.
- Stoneham area
Bryna Davis
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(781) 438-9254
brynadavis@csninc.org
 
Medford Community Housing
- Medford
Susan Collins
(Online Education available)
(978) 317-8998
info@medfordcommunityhousing.org
 
- Quincy
Keely Alta
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(617) 479-8181 x376
housinginfo@qcap.org
 
Gonzalo Puigbo
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(617) 410-9904
gpuigbo@somervillecdc.org
 
Norman Kane
(Online Education available)
(508) 620-2402
 
WATCH CDC
- Waltham
Tania Burger 
(781) 891-6689 

 

Central Massachusetts

- North Central Massachusetts 
Madeline Mendoza
(Classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(978) 400-0166
mmendoza@nvcomm.org
 
RCAP Solutions
- Gardner/Worcester
Lindsey Richmond
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(978) 630-6639
LRichmond@rcapsolutions.org
 

North Shore and Merrimack Valley

ACT Lawrence
- Lawrence
Ana Luna
(Classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(978) 685-6274
 
- Lawrence
Gisela Vasquez
(Classes available in Spanish)
(HUD approved)
(978) 332-7108
 
Coastal Homebuyer Education, Inc.
- Newburyport
Ellie O'Leary
(978) 992-4106
eoleary@coastalhb.org
 
Community Action, Inc.
- Haverhill
Richard Lynch, Susan Collins-Hanley
(978) 373-1971
rlynch@communityactioninc.org
 
Community Service Network, Inc.
- Stoneham area
Bryna Davis
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(781) 438-9254
brynadavis@csninc.org
 
Community Teamwork, Inc.
- Lowell
Cathy Dyl
(Online Education available)
(978) 459-0551
cdyl@commteam.org
 
Gloucester Housing Authority
- Gloucester
Bob Dumais
(Online Education available)
(978) 281-4770 x110
rdumais@ghama.com
 
 
Lawrence CommunityWorks
- Lawrence
Leslie Kent
(Classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(978) 685-3115
info@lawrencecommunityworks.org
 
(Online Education available)
(781) 581-8618
lcasillas@lhand.org
 
Merrimack Valley Housing Partnership
- Lowell
Jim Wilde
(Classes available in Spanish and Khmer)
(Online Education available)
(978) 459-8490
mvhp@mvhp.org

 

South Shore, Cape Cod, and Islands

Catholic Social Services
- Fall River and New Bedford
Maria Paiva
(Classes available in Spanish and Portuguese)
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(508) 674-4681
mpaiva@cssdioc.org
 
- Fall River
George Tripp
(508) 679-0131
 
(Online Education available)
 
Community Development Partnership
- Eastham
Andrea Aldana
(Online Education available)
(508) 240-7873 x10
andrea@capecdp.org
 
Housing Assistance Corporation
- Hyannis
Heidi Archibald
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(508) 771-5400
HArchibald@haconcapecod.org
 
Housing Nantucket
- Nantucket
Anne Kuszpa
(Online Education available)
(508) 228-4422
housingnantucket@gmail.com
 
- Quincy, Brockton, Kingston, & New Bedford
Sarah Pinheiro
(Classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
617-770-2227 x165
spinheiro@nhsmass.org
 
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(508) 747-1620 x147
redevelopment@townhall.plymouth.ma.us
 
Pro-Home
-Taunton
Gina Ambers
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(508) 821-2514
counselor3@prohomeinc.org
 
 

Western Massachusetts

(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(413) 499-1630 x100
lpensivy@berkshirehousing.com
 
(Online Education available)
(413) 592-8800 
hmownershiptr@aol.com
 
- Holyoke
Justine Sabbs
(Classes available in Spanish)
(413) 539-2220 x257
jsabbs@holyokehousing.org
 
- Turners Falls
Melanie Gaier
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(413) 863-9781 x1149
mgaier@fcrhra.org
 
Springfield Partners for Community Action
- Springfield
Augustus "Gus" Erskine
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
 
Valley Community Development Corporation
- Northampton
Donna Cabana
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(413) 586-5855 x160
fthb@valleycdc.com
 
- Springfield
Danielle Carrey
(classes available in Spanish)
(Online Education available)
(HUD approved)
(413) 233-1621
homeownership@wayfinders.org