HUD Housing Counseling Grant


CHAPA is the HUD-approved Regional Intermediary for New England, under HUD's Housing Counseling Program.  CHAPA competes for housing counseling funds with other regional intermediaries and 12 to 15 national intermediaries on an annual basis.  CHAPA works with 21 affiliates in five New England states – Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Vermont.  Each of the 21 affiliates is a non-profit agency providing housing counseling services to low and moderate income households.  Services include tenant counseling, pre- and post-purchase homebuyer education and counseling, and default and delinquency counseling.  CHAPA's affiliates are listed below by state.



  • Housing Education Resource Center (HERC), Hartford


  • Coastal Enterprises, Inc. (CEI), Wiscasset

  • Community Concepts, South Paris

  • Penquis Community Action Program, Bangor

  • York County Community Action Corporation (YCCAC), Sanford


  • Allston-Brighton Community Development Corporation (ABCDC), Brighton

  • Massachusetts Affordable Housing Alliance (MAHA), Dorchester

  • Merrimack Valley Housing Partnership (MVHP), Lowell

Rhode Island

  • Blackstone Valley Community Action Program (BVCAP), Pawtucket

  • Community Works Rhode Island (formerly Elmwood Foundation), Providence

  • Olneyville Housing Corporation, Providence

  • Stop Wasting Abandoned Property (SWAP), Providence


  • Central Vermont Community Land Trust, Barre

  • Champlain Housing Trust (CHT), Burlington

  • Gilman Housing Trust (GHT), Lyndonville

  • NeighborWorks of Western Vermont, Rutland

  • Windham and Windsor Housing Trust, Brattleboro